TCV celebrates its 40th Founding Anniversary Event dedicated to the 80th Birth Anniversary of HH The 14th Dalai Lama

By Fatima Ashraf Barcha Choglamsar, Sep 12, 2015
Choglamsar :
 The Tibetan SOS Children’s Village School-Ladakh celebrated its 40th Founding Anniversary & 34th Inter-House Athletic Meet 2015. The event was dedicated to the 80th Birth Anniversary of HH The 14th Dalai Lama.
The Chief Guest of the occasion was Prasanna Ramaswamy.G (IAS) DC Leh. The Guest of Honour was Dhondup Gyalpo, Coordinator Tibetan Changthang Settlement. Apart from foreign and local guests the alumni of the school were also present on the occasion. 
The event began with the House march past followed by Tibetan National Anthem and Indian national Anthem. A minute silence was observed in the memory of the Martyrs who gave up their lives for Tibet.
Prasanna Ramaswamy, in his speech, appreciated the performances of the children. He added that India is a diverse country and the Tibetans add to that multiplicity. He said that the administration will continue to support them in the future. 
Kalsang Phuntsok, Village director in his welcome speech expressed happiness over celebrating the 40th founding Anniversary. He thanked the SOS-Kinderdorf  International Vienna, Austria their main sponsors and other individual sponsors. He expressed gratitude to the Indian Administration for the constant support since the village’s inception. He also thanked the SNM Civil Hospital for their medical help as and when required. He also requested the Alumni of the school to constantly support the school as Ama Jetsun Pema (elder sister of HH) had expressed in the TCV MDC meeting.
The Chief Guest declared the 34th Athletic Meet open which was followed by the Torch ceremony. The School captain on behalf of the participants took the oath to play in true sportsmanship.
The school magazine was also released on the occasion. Cultural dances, Yoga, Callisthenic exercise and aerobics were performed by the students. All this was followed by the final Athletic events. Winners of the Athletic games were awarded with prize and trophies. 
The vote of thanks was given by Mingur Dorjee, Headmaster Junior Section on behalf of the School Principal.