Runners increasing year by year; 5th Ladakh Marathon concludes

By Stanzin Dasal LEH, Sep 20, 2016
The 5th Ladakh marathon with around 5000 runners from all over the world concluded successfully on September 11 at Ladakh Public school Leh.  The marathon began with Khardongla Challenge (72 km) on September 10 and Full (42 km), Half (21 km) and 7 km-Run for fun marathon on the consecutive days. 

The event was organized by Rimo Expeditions, with the support of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council and the Ministry of Tourism & Culture, Jammu, and Kashmir.

Overwhelmed to see around 5000 participation which was first started with 1500 runners Director, Rimo Expedition, Chhewang Motup expressed gratitude to all the supporters and participant who has put every effort to make the marathon successful. 

He further added, “It’s been two years since the Ladakh Marathon has been certified with AIMS (Association of International Marathons and Distance Races) and stands on 35th in the world’s marathon calendar.

MP, Thupstan Chhewang assured to give all support to develop sports in near future.

The winner of the Khardongla challenge was shared by the Tsewang Tokdan and Shabir Hussain. Tsewang Tokdan was also the winner of the 4th Ladakh Marathon 2015. A cash prize of ₹50,000 was presented to the winner of the Khardongla challenge.  

 Dr. Sonam Dawa,CEC appreciated all the runners for participating in the Ladakh Marathon and making it successful. 

Sonam Chuskit, the winner of the Khardongla challenge women category said, “This is my first time in Khardongla challenge and is a good experience. I will continue to participate in every marathon.” 

Amit Shah a participant from Mumbai said, “It is a good opportunity and experience to participate in Marathon at a very high altitude. This is my second time and I came down purposely to take part in this marathon.”

The medalist of the Ladakh Marathon: 
Category Name Timing Position
Khardongla Challenge-72 km Tsewang Tokdan 06:53:35 First
Shabir Husain 06:53:35 First
Mohammad Illiyas 07:12:16 Third
Full Marathon - 42km Jigmet Namgail 03:12:10 First
Stanzin Norbu 03:17:05 Second 
Jigmet Norbu 03:17:18 Third
Half Marathon -21 km Nawang Tsering 01:23:05 First
Tsewang Namgyal 01:27:05 Second 
Lundup Dorjay 01:27:56 Third
Khardongla Challenge-72 km Sonam Chuskit 09:41:19 First
Divaya 12:30:34 Second 
Parvin 13:15:28 Third
Full Marathon - 42km Tsetan Dolkar 03:34:26 First
Shikha Pahwa 04:08:47 Second 
Namgyal Lhamo 04:22:07 Third
Half Marathon-21km Jigmet Dolma 01:39:31 First
Diskit Dolma 01:42:25 Second 
Tashi Ladol 01:48:08 Third