National Conference strengthens party foundation in Leh, set to play strong opposition role

By Stanzin Dasal LEH, Dec 24, 2016
On the 111th Birth anniversary of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah, District National Conference party announced the women and youth wing members on December 5 at Grand Dragon Hotel, Leh.  The two wings were formed under the Chairmanship of the Vice President of Parents Body of the District NC, Leh.

To fulfill Sher-e-Kashmir’s mission of political and economic rights and empowerment of the State and its people the party formed both the wings to strengthen and enhance the working activities of the party at the grassroots level. At present National Conference holds two seats in the 5th LAHDC, Leh winning the Turtuk and the Lower Constituency. Ghulam Mehdi Ashur and Phunchok Wangdan were elected as a councilor for the respective constituency. 

Tsewang Dorjay Korpon was elected as President NC, Youth Wing ,Leh and Deachen Angmo as President, NC ,Women Wing. 

Recalling the welfare work carried out by the leaders like Bakula Rinpoche, Sonam Norbu, Thiksay Rinpoche and Khanpo Rinpoche, Vice President Thinley Boto appealed all the members to strengthen the NC in Leh. 

He also stressed on keeping the secularism thought and making the NC as a strong opposition party in Leh district. 

Stressing and focusing on the empowerment of National Conference party in the Leh District, Ghulam Mehdi Ashur, Turtuk Councillor appealed the new executive members of the youth and women wing to work proactively for the development of the society and to uplift the party.
List of the elected Executive Members of the Youth Wing and women wing:
Youth Wing
S. No. Name Designation
1. Tsewang Dorjay President 
2. Tundup Tsewang Vice President 
3. Arshad Hussain Vice President 
4. Stanzin Jungness General Secretary 
5. Stanzin Gurmet Cashier
Women Wing 
1. Deachen Angmo President 
2. Hajira Bano Vice President
3. Kunzang Dolma General Secretary