Dr. Sonam Dawa the first BJP CEC of LAHDC, Leh Assures the party will write a new chapter of governance

By Stanzin Desal Leh, Nov 09, 2015
Leh :
A historic day for Ladakh, Dr. Sonam Dawa Councilor Thiksey constituency was nominated and elected as the new Chief Executive Councilor of LAHDC, Leh on 3rd October at  the Council Secretariat, Leh. 

The decision was made in the first General council meeting of LAHDC under the chairmanship of Deputy Commissioner, Leh -Prasanna Ramaswamy G. The entire elected councilors passed unanimous decision for the CEC.

Dr. Dawa said that, “there are many works which have to be done and initiated but if we talk about priorities then I will firstly put all my efforts to rehabilitate the people and places that are affected during the flash flood and the council will work on the declared  manifesto.”  He further added that now the power of BJP is at the Central, State and in our region the promised “ACCHEY DIN” will be in Ladakh. The incomplete developmental projects will be taken into consideration as well as the new council will initiate some more needed work. 

List of LAHDC- Leh, CEC from 1995-2015

Party              CEC                                 Year
Congress       Thupstan Chhewang   3rd Sept 1995-31st May 2004
Congress      Rigzin Spalbar                 24th  June 2004 - 26th Oct 2005
LUTF              Chhering Dorjey               27th Oct 2005- 25th Dec 2010
Congress      Rigzin Spalbar                 29th Dec 2010-2015
BJP              Dr.Sonam Dawa                 2015-2020

Dorjay Mutup from Kungyam constituency, Tsering Sangdup from Panamik constituency, Tsering Wangdus from Saspol constituency and Mumtaz Hussain from Chuchot constituency were elected as the new executive councilors of 5th LAHDC, Leh on 4th October. 
List of new Executive Councilors along with their portfolio

Executive Councilor   Constituency     Portfolio

Dorjey Motup               Kungyam          Works Department
Tsering Wangdus       Saspol          Agriculture and Rural Development
Mumtaz Hussain      Chuchot          Animal Husbandry 
Tsering Sangdup      Panamik          Tourism Department