LAHDC, Leh election: Congress wins 9 out of 26 seats The election was competitive and despite many challenges, congress party manages to have a fair share in the Council, says Jora

By Konchok Norboo Leh, Oct 30, 2020
Leh :

On winning 9 seats out of 26 in the 6th LAHDC, Leh election, Congress Party expressed gratitude to the people for demonstrating their support and believing in the party’s principles and their firm demand for the 6th Schedule.

Addressing a press conference on October 29 at party office, Nawang Rigzin Jora, President, Territorial Congress Committee said, “This particular election was very competitive referring to the development of UT by the BJP Govt and involving various centre ministers in the campaign. But the Congress Party managed to have their fair share in the Council”.

He stated that the entire population is not content with the spineless development of UT and demands the safeguards in the form of precisely 6th Schedule. 

The party’s prime focus during the campaign was on enlightening people on the consequences of the dominance of the bureaucrats over LAHDC and the protection of the people of Ladakh from an outsider’s exploitation, he added. 

The LAHDC elections 2020 concluded with BJP’s dominance with 15 seats, followed by Congress with 9 seats and 2 seats to Independent.

District Congress Committee, Leh new President, Rigzin Ursi; Former President, DCC, Leh, Tsering Samphel; Ladakh Territorial Congress Committee Women, President, Stanzin Dolkar and President, Municipal Committee, Leh, Dr. Namgyal were also present.