Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body. Happy reading... 

Travel: +91 8491947039 | Media: +91 1982 252108 / 252105
Advertisement & Subscription: +91 9469451102

Art, Culture and Languages

    |   Share   |  
Artists from 13 states showcase their colourful traditional art forms
By Kunzang Chosdol, Tuesday, September 19, 2017


With an aim to preserve and exchange the traditional cultural forms of different states of India, a three-day long 12th Desaj festival was organized by Sangeet Natak Akademi, National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, India from September 11 to13 at NDS Sports Complex, Leh.

Chief Guest of the occasion Dr. Sonam Dawa, CEC said, “Theatre plays a very important role in Ladakh. In the past, it was the only means through which people were educated and entertained”.

Applauding Mipham Otsal for bringing theatre to the new height in Ladakh, he said that such initiative of bringing different culture and tradition of India on one platform will help in learning and experience many new things.

He further stressed the need to encourage and support the talented youths of the region.

“These three days festival will help these talented artists to showcase their talents and to interact and learn from the artists participating from different parts of India”, he added.

Mipham Otsal, Director, Ladakh Theatre Organisation also a member of Sangeet Natak Akademi Council said, “There are numerous flock and tribal art forms in India and to preserve this culture Desaj festival has been organized in India. This time, the festival is organized in Ladakh with an aim to promote our own culture as well as to know the rich culture of our society.”

Talking about the culture of Ladakh he said, “There are different schemes and facilities under govt. we should take the advantages and promote our culture to every corner of the world”, he added.

A total of 13 states participated in the festival which includes Karnataka, Punjab, Assam, Gujarat, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh and J&K.

No Comments for this News.